I’ve seen a few mentions of this company online (Liberty Names of America), and how they attempt to quasi-confuse you to re-register (ie. transfer) your soon-to-be-expiriring domain through them. The following pics were taken from an actual letter they sent to me..
Now, how Liberty Names can get away with sending pseudo invoices for domains that they don’t control, and are attempting to transfer under their ownership, I don’t know.
Here are a few other articles online about them:
Many say Liberty Names of America are Scammers
“Liberty Names” SCAM
Liberty Names & Corp.com Scams
This entry was posted on Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 at 1:58 pm and is filed under General Thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.


I have also received HTML emails from them, as well as from addresses in Chicago and Buffalo.
Once I had a client who sent it in, then I got the request to transfer the domain name to them - I was managing the name. I told her to contact them for a refund, and they obliged rather quickly.
Do you know of any Web sites that expose them?
mp/m
Hi,
I wonder if this is Domain Registry Of America operating under a new name after being shut down by the FTC.
See here:
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.shtm
Excerpt: “According to the FTC, the company told consumers that their domain registrations were expiring, leading many consumers unwittingly to switch their domain name registrar. The company also allegedly did not disclose that it would charge a processing fee to consumers if their transfer request was not competed – for any reason…”
It’s deja vu all over again.
Patrick