By Peter Askew | December 27, 2007 - 6:15 pm - Posted in General Thoughts

I’ve been keeping an eye on the domainFEST site, as I’m contemplating going, and attempting to get three domains accepted to the live auction.

I noticed a new company on their site, though. One I hadn’t heard about, listed as a sponsor.

The company is called WebMoney.

webmoney.JPG

“hmm, intriguing”, I thought. The image on the site wasn’t clickable, so I typed the domain into the address bar.

w-e-b-m-o-n-e-y.com

here’s the site I’m taken to:

webmoneyjp.JPG

confused, I re-checked that I didn’t fat finger it. I didn’t. The domain simply re-directs to webmoney.jp.

Confused again, I thought, “Would an Asian business advertise on an English speaking site?” Probably not. The logo’s are different too, so that’s throwing me off as well..

They’re advertising at a domaining conference, though, so they clearly understand the rules of buying domains. Generic domains obviously, but specifically domains that match business names.

As I searched in Google to answer my question, I uttered a quiet, ‘ooooof’, when their site came up in the listings.

their domain ain’t webmoney.com

it’s wmtransfer.com (whatever that means - I guess web money transfer)

oh, I guess they registered webmoneytransfer.com

oooooof. nope. parked godaddy page.

oye, these guys have got a lot to learn.

This entry was posted on Thursday, December 27th, 2007 at 6:15 pm and is filed under General Thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

2 Comments

  1. December 28, 2007 @ 1:26 pm


    No the Japan web is NOT webmoney.ru or wmtransfer.com its another company and soon its trading in Japan on some stock exchange there. When I asked about it with WM in Russia, here is what they said,
    “we have nothing to do with wm.jp, they don’t use webmoney.com directly but redirect it to .jp site. we are negotiating the sale of the domain name with them for a long time…”

    Mark
    DGCmagazine

    Posted by Mark H
  2. December 28, 2007 @ 2:43 pm


    It’s well-known Russian company (like Moneygram or WesternUnion):
    http://www.webmoney.ru

    Posted by Val

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.